Rhythms of Grace

IMG_4468.JPG

It has been seriously incredible to see the work that God is doing in my life. There are challenges and trials for sure, and half the time if I think too much about the massive to-do list in front of me I feel dizzy. However, despite the whirlwind of things to do, I’m finding a supernatural peace within my soul.

There is something strange about grace: you can never earn it. And there is something distinct about rest: it’s a necessary form of grace. God gives us grace to rest. I love how The Message bible puts it:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me-watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

Following Jesus isn’t easy, but it sure is simple. All He asks of us is to obey Him, to extend love to others, and trust Him to make up the difference. When the world is too much to handle, lay it all before Jesus with the understanding that He knows what to do with all the messy, chaotic, complicated piles of stuff. He is faithful beyond articulation. We can rest in this confidence rooted in Christ’s faithfulness and steadfast love that never fails. He is able to more than make up the difference between all your mistakes and fumbles and turn them into something graceful and beautiful. (2 Corinthians 9:8)

Once you understand that (believe me, it’s not always easy) you find a lot more peace in the every day messiness and interruptions. “Jesus, take this. I can’t.” And rest knowing He can.

It takes practice; it takes soaking in the Truth of His Word and who He says He is daily. But there is insurmountable peace in resting in Jesus; walking with Him, working with Him, and watching Him do it.

I want to forever be a student of these rhythms of grace. And when I stumble and trip, I know Jesus will be there to catch me, sweep me up into a graceful twirl, and lead me into the next dance with ease. All I need to do is keep holding on to Him.

Leave a Reply

